Busy Busy….

> There was a superb turnout at the Providence Athenaeum for a salon we (my co-host, Phoebe Simpson and I) gave on libraries in 18th and 19th century Providence. Over 80 people showed (on Halloween no less!), and we had a lively discussion. A week later, I gave my “founding of the PPL” talk at the same place, and about 20 attended that, despite it being a rainy Thursday evening.

Friday (11/14) I picked up some great ideas at a conference in Worcester, MA–among them a way to quickly create a “digital collection” of our Irish ballads (we have over 1,000, perhaps the best collection outside Ireland) on Flickr (if the Library of Congress can do it, so can we). And Saturday I met lots of old friends at the Boston Book Fair (http://www.bostonbookfair.com/), and saw a very nice whaling log I’d like to buy. More to follow…
Leave a Reply

