I don’t know but I’ve been told….

>

So here’s a delightful and odd little book from the Fiske-Harris collection, entitled Rhymed Tactics. It is apparently an aid to memorizing field drills by setting them to verse. Published in New York in 1862, the author is pictured on the title page. The topic is pretty unsuited to verse, but I wonder if it was ever used in any serious way (the lines scan very badly, but it’s amusing). I’ve found a couple of copies available in the trade, for those collectors out there.

One thought on “I don’t know but I’ve been told….

Leave a Reply

